The Secret

May 22, 2007 at 1:50 am 7 comments

I have a secret.

I am not at liberty to share it, but it makes me incredibly happy.  I have been smiling all weekend.

It is a truly remarkable secret. 

I have alway had trouble keeping secrets.  Not that I have ever known that many.  People that I know are not very secretive.   And I have always worn my heart on my sleeve. 

In my family I grew up with secrets. My mother was always afraid of “what the neighbors might think.”  Not that the neighbors ever came over.  My parents did not really entertain.  I am sure they had friends, mostly people that they worked with and occasionally they did go out and leave us with a babysitter, so I do believe that they had some kind of social life.  But the neighbors never did actually come over and I never could figure out what we were supposed to be hiding from them.

I had a friend named Dana and I used to go over to her house for the holidays.  It was amazing!  They had a table full of people and a full bar sitting out on the kitchen  counter.  People were laughing and drinking and running from room to room.   It was a houseful of merriment.   We never drank in my family.  We did have a liquor cabinet, and it did contain a few bottles.  The tops became crusty from congealed sugar.   I do remember my father buying us some cold duck on New Year’s and we always got a sip.

Sometimes my aunt was invited over and I think she might have been toasted.  Of couse, since we never talked about such things, my sister and I were never to know.  I do remember on occasion in which my sister was getting ready for a dance recital.   She had a sparkly orange dance outfit with gold fringe hanging from the sleeves.  My aunt insisted on trying it on.  It barely fit.  I can see her now, standing in the living room in my sister’s dance recital outfit.   My mother was mortified.  I am sure glad the neighbors all stayed home that day.

So my family is no stranger to secrets.

And now I have one.

And it is wonderful.

Have a great day, everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Aaaaah Rhapsody Wednesday Blahs…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kev in NZ  |  May 22, 2007 at 2:20 am

    I so hope it’s a nice secret. It must be if it is making you so happy. Hold on to it and enjoy the feeling.

    Hugs to you.
    Kev in NZ

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  May 22, 2007 at 3:27 am

    hohoho
    there are no secrets in blog land
    at least give us a hint you tease. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. johnmichael  |  May 22, 2007 at 3:44 am

    I am laughing so hard at the thought of your aunt (even though I have no idea what she looks like) trying on a recital outfit and the mortified look on your mothers face..thanks for sharing this memory. It made me smile.

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogi  |  May 22, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    Out with it! Out. With. It!!!

    You’re getting married, aren’t you?!!!!!

    You cannot post something like this and not tell us!!! 😦

    Reply
  • 5. Jim  |  May 22, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Hmm….

    Could there be another wedding coming up, is that what I smell in the air??

    (sniff sniff sniff sniff)

    Nah, methinks one of the cats is having a gas attack… gotta go and open a window…

    If it’s making you smile, all the better… you gonna keep us in suspense for long?

    Reply
  • 6. Doug  |  May 23, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Oh! Cruel shadows!
    Shrouds dimming from view,
    Flashing glimpses teasing,
    Stirring deep in my soul,
    Yearning to discern,
    That which I cannot know.

    Your secret is safe with you and you alone. 🙂

    (P.S., I have no idea where this came from. I was struck my inspiration.)

    Reply
  • 7. Coco  |  May 24, 2007 at 1:32 am

    Secret?!
    I love secrets!! SHARE!! : )

    I’m really glad that this wonderful news is happy news for you!

    Blessings.

    ps
    btw…
    i’m sort of “redecorating” & organizing my blog…
    i’ve titled it: Teacher Estrella

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars